Classified Employee Excellence Recognition Award

The Classified Employee Excellence Recognition Award (CEERA) program rewards non-certified employees of the Olathe Public Schools for outstanding service and excellence in their job performance. Nominees might include paraprofessionals, food service employees, secretaries, custodians, business office personnel, grounds maintenance crew members, or other support positions in the district.

*Nominations carry over for review month to month for a period of one year (or 3 semesters)*

*Nomination forms are due by the first of each month, August through May*

Nominations must be supported by three letters of recommendation from individuals who have interacted with the classified staff member. Letters of recommendation might come from students, parents, colleagues, vendors, etc. and must outline how the nominee:

·Demonstrates a commitment to being a team player and a positive role model for others.
·Goes above and beyond in their job performance with specific personal characteristics or job skills that make them stand out
·Supports and demonstrates the district’s staff guiding principles of:

o    Children first
o    Respect for all
o    Teamwork
o    Excellence and quality
o    Commitment to individual needs

“I am extremely pleased that the Olathe Public Schools Foundation created the Classified Employee Excellence Recognition Award (CEERA) to reward Classified Staff for outstanding service and excellence.  It is important to recognize the valuable contributions our Classified Staff make toward the District’s vision of Students Prepared for Their Future.  It takes a team effort to achieve the excellent results the District has achieved in the areas of:  student learning, innovation, and resource acquisition and allocation.  This award is a fitting recognition of the key role our Classified Staff play in the District’s success.”
                                          —Dr. Lloyd Letcher, former Director of Classified Personnel and Services

Recipients of this award receive commemorative items and a $500 cash award! Nominations are due in the OPSF office by the first of each month for consideration. Please send applications to 315 N Lindenwood Drive, Olathe, KS 66062.

Nomination Forms:   word doc   |    pdf

Please contact your buildling administrator or the Foundation office at 780-8222  if you have any questions.


2015-2016 Recipients

Kendra Menke – Regency Place Elementary – ELL (August)
Enrique Pena – Prairie Trail Middle School -- Custodian (August)
Julie Pickerill – Olathe Northwest High School – Library Aide (September)
Judy Phelps – Madison Place Elementary – Paraprofessional (September)
Mary Wargin – Instructional Resource Center – Administrative Secretary (October)
Rene Holmes – Olathe South High School – Nursing Aide (October)
Jocelyn Cobos – Washington Elementary – Paraeducator (November/December)
Tierney Parker – Mission Trail Middle School – Paraprofessional (November/December)
Kim King – Green Springs Elementary – Paraprofessional (January)
Leslie Banks – Oregon Trail Middle School – Custodian (January)
LuAnn Yager – Santa Fe Trail Middle School – Paraeducator (February)
Wanita Callas – Forest View Elementary – Paraeducator (February)
Ashley Soltz – Westview Elementary – Paraeducator (March)
Barb Cogswell – West Dennis Learning Center – Paraeducator/Job Coach (March)
Schely Rasco – Cedar Creek - Paraprofessional (April)
Tami Gabbert – Olathe South - Paraeducator (April)
Sheila Bethel – Washington Elementary – ELL Aide (May)
Angela Klusman – Olathe South – Administrative Assistant (May)


2014-2015 Recipients

Jackie Bigelow -- Green Springs Elementary -- Paraeducator (August)
Norma Michel -- Olathe North High School -- ELL (August)
Rebecca Emry -- Oregon Trail Middle School -- Secretarial Assistant (September)
Raul Sanchez -- Mahaffie Elementary -- Lead Custodian (September)
Mary Barrios – Education Center – Administrative Assistant (October)
Janice Craven – Madison Place Elementary – Library Clerk (October)
Susan Zimmerman – Prairie Center Elementary – Administrative Secretary (November/December)
Kim Russell – Harmony Early Childhood Center – Administrative Assistant (November/December)
Teresa Derting – Indian Trail Middle School – Paraeducator (January)
Cathy Herbison – Olathe Technical Support Center – Elementary Gradebook Specialist (January)
Mardell Eilderts – Countryside Elementary – Paraeducator (February)
Vicki Johnson – Central Elementary – Paraeducator (February)
Leslie Boyd – Education Center – Manager Classified Professional Development (March)
Phyllis Tormey – Graphic Communications – Secretary (March)
Adriana Braswell – Indian Trail Middle School – Spanish Interpreter (April)
Cheryl Philips – Countryside Elementary – Paraeducator (April)
Donna Logan – Heartland Early Childhood – Transportation Specialist (May)
Ailiana Garcia – Rolling Ridge Elementary – Interpreter/Secretarial Assistant (May) 


2013-2014 Recipients

Beth Anderson -- Meadow Lane Elementary -- Paraeducator (August)
Joni Hiatt -- Olathe North High School -- Paraeducator (August)
Kim Lindahl -- Frontier Trail Middle School -- Administrative Secretary (September)
Michelle Haug -- Havencroft Elementary School -- Administrative Secretary (September)
Brenda Mesmer -- Washington Elementary School -- ELL Aide (October)
Sandy Garms -- Fairview Elementary School -- School Aide/Teacher Support (October)
Manuel Natzu -- Olathe South High School -- Lead Custodian (November/December)
Susie Meyn -- Olathe Northwest High School -- Data Operator (November/December)
Laura Stubbs –- Briarwood Elementary School -- Paraeducator (January 2014)
Cheryl Black –- Countryside Elementary School –- Paraeducator (January 2014)
Melissa Phillippe –- Madison Place Elementary School –- School Aide (February 2014)
Nancy Kuhn –- West Dennis Learning Center –- Paraeducator (February 2014)
Jennifer Thompson -- Rolling Ridge Elementary -- Administrative Assistant (March 2014)
Shawn Croushore -- Pioneer Trail Middle School -- Lead Custodian (March 2014)
Sue Kapitan –- Santa Fe Trail Middle School –- Paraeducator (April 2014)
Leslie DeBrabander – Washington Elementary School –Paraeducator (April 2014)
Mercedes Estrada de Natzu –- Woodland Elementary School –- Lead Custodian (May 2014)
Delia Mullins -- Woodland Elementary School -- Para-educator (May 2014)


2012-2013 Recipients

Donna Peters -- Olathe South High School -- Secretary (August)
Ramiro Gonzalez -- Brougham Elementary-- Custodian (August)
Deb Sleezer -- Millcreek Center -- Administrative Assistant (September)
Cindy Butler -- Arbor Creek Elementary -- Administrative Assistant (September)
Alina Walther -- Ridgeview Elementary -- International Language Associate/Translator (October)
Kay Tucker -- Westview Elementary -- Food Service (October)
Victor Sanchez -- Heritage Elementary -- Custodian (November)
Carolynn Pearson -- Education Center -- Administrative Assistant (November)
Jane Jones -- Pioneer Trail Middle School -- Administrative Assistant (January)
Neil Minter -- Green Springs Elementary -- Paraeducator (January)
Mary Patrick -- Indian Trail Middle School -- Secretary (February)
Andra Beashore -- Brougham Elementary -- Paraprofessional (February)
Colleen Murphy -- Briarwood Elementary -- Paraeducator (March)
Barbara Plowman -- Meadow Lane Elementary -- Food Services Cafeteria Manager (March)
Lou Ann Proctor -- Instructional Resource Center -- Para, Job Coach, Admin. Asst., Scheduler (April)
Jennifer Sanderson -- Olathe Northwest High School -- Secretary (April)
Laura Wedermyer - Mission Trail Middle School -- Paraprofessional (May)
Angie Bartels -- Ravenwood Elementary School -- Paraprofessional (May)