Women's Giving Circle

Great Things Happen When Caring Women Gather

One Night. 150+ Women making $100 gifts.

Three compelling proposals that will support Olathe students.

One $15,000 grant winner.

Spring 2018 Gathering

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
TVH Parts Co.
16355 S Lone Elm Rd, Olathe, KS 66062
6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Hosted by Sustaining Member, Els Thermote

Call for Proposals

Spring 2018 Grant Amount:   $13,000 minimum - $15,000 maximum
The OPSF Women’s Giving Circle is currently seeking grant proposals for the Spring 2018 cycle.  Olathe teachers should present an innovative solution to challenges/problems impacting student achievement.  While these grants will not target students in need, grants are welcomed from any school in the Olathe district.  
Deadline for applications:
Spring 2018 applications must be received electronically at the OPSF office (foundation@olatheschools.org) by noon, Thursday, March 22, 2018.

And the winner is...

On Tuesday, October 24, more than 70 women gathered to hear three compelling proposals from Olathe educators that addressed student need.  A $10,000 grant was awarded to Making Music an Instrumental Part of Students’ Lives.  The grant was presented by Martha Gable, the Fine Arts Coordinator for the district. 

As student interest in instrumental music programs has grown, so has the number of students who want to be in band or orchestra but cannot afford an instrument.  The funding will help to ensure that any student who wants to be a part of band or orchestra has that opportunity, regardless of their ability to provide their own instrument.  The grant will be used to purchase additional instruments, both affordable new or quality used/refurbished instruments, necessary repairs on donated instruments, and purchase new cases for those instruments if needed.


Matching Grants to Meet the Need

The Women's Giving Circle committee also announced that night that if a grant earned at least 30% of the vote, they would award that proposal with a $5,000 matching grant.  Ultimately, two matching grants were awarded. 

One grant went to Cyclone Calming Room presented by Jennifer Slaven, Social Worker at Santa Fe Trail Middle School, which proposed creating a sensory room at the school.  The other matching grant was awarded to Lights Up on Olathe Middle School Theatre presented by Dana Davis (Prairie Trail), Rachel Hoyer (California Trail), and Jodie Buster (Indian Trail).  This grant will be used to purchase new, modern lighting equipment and software for all Olathe middle schools.

Fall Gathering By the Numbers

More than 70 women attended the Fall gathering
156 Members total
121 Sustaining Members
28 new Members
6 new Sustaining Members

Become a Sustaining Member

OPSF Women's Giving Circle Sustaining Members commit $100 twice a year, for the Spring and Fall gatherings.  These generous women listed below have pledged their ongoing support - and you can join them! 

Contact the Foundation at 913.780.8222, make your commitment and have your name added to this list of extraordinary women.  Your continued support is needed to maintain our tradition of awarding one deserving project funding of $10,000 or more!

Linda Albee
Dawn Albers
Dr. Pat All
Sara Anderson
Renny Arensberg
Liz Avey
Alison Balcom
Dr. Alison Banikowski
DeNeese Barclay
Melissa Barton
Katie Beaudin
Judy Berry
Cheryl Biesterfeld
Candy Birch
Joy Bondurant
Carly Boothe
Kathy Brogden
Susan Brooks
Kendri Burkett
Natalie Byrnes
Kate Capps
Carol Chartrand
Debbie Chiaverini
JoAnn Colt
Jane Conner
Lindsay Dandoy
Mimi Eckart
Jennifer Eddings
Cindy England
Jennifer Fales
LeEtta Felter
Laura Fitzsimmons
Shobha Gardi
Desiree George
Dr. Joan Gilson
Peggy Graham
Missy Greene
Maria Gregorio
Denise Griffey
DeAnn Haake
Marlys Hankins
Denise Herman
Amy Herman
Melissa Hess
Moira Holland
Karen Hooven
Michelle Horton
Charlene Hughes
Nancy Ingram
Terri Jarboe
Debbie Jasiczek
Barb Jewell
Pegah Karstens
Sandy Keating
Christy Klein
Laura Larcom
Sarah Lister
Amy Martin
Beverly McAuley
Pat McCartney
Ann McCort
Jenny McCune
JoDee McGraw
Stacie McKee
Cindy Medina
Jennifer Mehnert
Dr. Tes Mehring
Julia Meyer
Diana Moormeier
Jill Murray
Kathy Musgrave
Jane Musgrove
Danielle Myers
Jenny Nehrbass
Sybil Orman
Dawn Peterson
Cristan Philipp
Aly Plunkett
Gwen Poss
Debbie Ramirez
Judy Rapp
Stacy Rezek
Jennifer Robins
Lisa Rock
Tiffany Rogers
Brandi Russell
Kristin Schultz
Susan Sherman
Tammy Siegrist
Paula Slifer
Dr. Jamie Smiley
Jenny Smith
Lindsay Smith
Alice Snider
Linda Starrett
Theresa Stoker
Debbie Swinney
Emily Tegtmeier
Els Thermote
Heather Tucker
Kathi Tully
Debbie Underwood
Jennifer Utting
Natalie VanLiew
Jayne Vehlewald
Cindy VonFeldt
Joyce Webb
Jana Weltmer
Linda Wetzel
Stefanie Wickliffe
Jane Wilson
Julie Wood
Mazie Yewell
Suzie Zimmerman